29/01/2016: The Problem

(After a night of intense stress, my boyfriend got his job! Yay! So I’m celebrating with a short freeform poem about love, emotion and poetry.)

The problem is

That at this moment

Today,

With you

I am far too full of

Mere emotions

To express them

In simple words.

 

‘I love you’

Does no justice

To the joy

And intensity

That spills out of me

When I see you smile,

Your eyes crinkling like fans,

Your mouth curling

Like the sunrise.

 

There are no oceans

Big enough

For the swells of sadness

That rise within me

When I think of my mother’s arms,

Her hazel eyes,

The smell of her hugs.

 

There are no typhoons

That can contain

The rages I have felt,

The storms that have wrecked havoc

On my soul,

The thunder and lightning I have screamed

At my hated reflection –

“How dare you be less than perfect”

(But, of course, that is not what I mean.)

 

There is not enough sunshine in the universe,

No temple scene calm enough,

For the tranquility that falls after,

When the sobs have left

And the rage is empty.

 

I suppose, when all is said and done,

This is what it means to be a poet.

 

That, when I run out of words to tell you what I feel,

I must use my words, instead, to paint you a picture of those feelings,

That silence,

That rage,

That sadness,

That joy,

That even now destroy me.

 

I suppose,

(when all is said and done)

(and it is never said and done)

That, is what it means,

At the end of the day,

To be me.

One thought on “29/01/2016: The Problem

Leave a Reply

