From The Vaults: Tritina of Rosebuds and Blood

(Had another seizure this morning; don’t worry, I have a neuro appointment tomorrow, but most of the day was spent in bed, so you’re getting one from the vaults today: the first tritina I ever wrote. Don’t fret too much over the subject matter, I’m still happily dating my boy, but this was written when I was grumpy over a breakup, as I think is pretty clear from the choices I made in writing it.)

Yesterday, at market, I swallowed a rosebud,

And felt it get stuck in my throat,

Along with the words ‘I love you’.

 

And as flowers bloomed in my lungs you

Simply stared as my heart was swallowed by a rosebud

And vines crawled and stuck thorns in my throat.

 

They taste of blood and roses now, the words in my throat,

You run like the coward you always knew you

Were. And I merely stand and laugh rosebuds.

 

I’d rather stick rosebuds in my throat than love a man like you.

One thought on “From The Vaults: Tritina of Rosebuds and Blood

Leave a Reply

